Boy Scouts of America - Denver Area Council   Donate Join Login
  • Youth Protection
  • Join Scouts
  • Join Scouts
  • About Us
  • Ways To Give
  • Calendar
  • YouTubeInstagramPinterestTwitterFlickrFacebookSearch
    • Youth Protection
    • Join Scouts
    • Join Scouts

    The Commissioner Concept

    The commissioner is the liaison between the local council and Scouting units. The commissioner is successful when units effectively deliver the ideals of Scouting to their members. Specifically, a commissioner:

    • Builds relationships as a "friend to the unit", getting to know the people and character of the leadership team.
    • Provides connections to other units, district, council and national resources.
    • Informs with up to date news from the district, council and national organization.
    • Ensures all leaders are trained.
    • Offers friendly and timely assitance when challenges arise.
    • Is a resource for you!

    Journey to Excellence

    “Journey to Excellence” is the new performance recognition program designed to encourage and reward success and measure the performance of our units. It replaces the Centennial Quality Awards Program and the Unit Success Award as a means of encouraging excellence in providing a quality program at all levels of the BSA.

    The program runs on a calendar year (January 1st – December 31st). This form should be turned in to your Unit Commissioner or the Scout service center by Dec. 31 or as directed by your Council.

    There are different scorecards for each unit type and units score points in numerous categories.

    Units can complete either hard.copy forms or download an Excel spreadsheet. Your unit commissioner can provide you with more information about the “Journey to Excellence” award, or you can download forms and spreadsheets from the Denver Area Council's Scouting Forms page.

    Any units that earn at least the Bronze level will earn free badges of rank in the Denver Area Council.

    Commissioner Leadership Team

    Council Commissioner

    Mark Zoller
    Phone: 303.912.9106

    District Commissioners

    Cindy HamiltonArapahoe District
    Phone: 303.775.1939

    Josh GuttormsenCentennial District
    Phone: 303.585.1221

    CJ MaysFrontier District
    Phone: 303.748.1023

    Jason PettisGateway District
    Phone: 720.515.5793

    Joy HawkinsPioneer Trails District
    Phone: 720.989.7567

    Steve YexleyTimberline District
    Phone: 303.506.9210

    Mike GillValley District
    Phone: 303.619.4433

    Assistant Council Commissioners

    Doc Doolittle, Administration and Training
    Phone: 720.218.5113

    Joyce Saitta, Leadership Education & Assistance Programs
    Phone: 720.940.5050

    Royd Despain, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint Relationships
    Phone: 303.932.1972

    Scott Johnson, Scoutbook Champion
    Phone: 303.989.5572

    Scott Johnson, Roundtable
    Phone: 303.989.5572

    Dori Hammer, Special Needs
    Phone: 303.904.8058

    Kent Knight, Venturing
    Phone: 303.755.8032

    Jason Pettis, Information & Communications
    Phone: 720.515.5793