Dac Commissioner Header

Denver Area Council Commissioners

Commissioners are district and council leaders who help Scouting units succeed and maintain the standards of the BSA. They coach and consult with adult leaders of Cub Scout packs, Scouts BSA troops, and Venturing crews. They also oversee the unit charter renewal plan so that each unit re-registers on time with an optimum number of youth and adult members. 

The commissioner is the liaison between the local council and Scouting units. They are successful when units effectively deliver the ideals of Scouting to their members. Specifically, a commissioner:

  • Builds relationships as a “friend to the unit,” getting to know the people and the character of the leadership team
  • Provides connections to other units, district, council and national resources
  • Informs with up-to-date news from the district, council, and national organization
  • Ensures all leaders are trained
  • Offers friendly and timely assistance when challenges arise
  • Is a resource!

DAC Commissioner Leadership Team

Council Commissioner

The DAC Council Commissioner is Dave Carlson. Phone 303.981.5356

District Commissioners

Steve YexleyAlpine District
Phone: 303.506.9210

Mike Ober, Black Feather District
Phone: 303-947-0082

Josh GuttormsenCentennial District
Phone: 303.585.1221

CJ MaysFrontier District
Phone: 303.748.1023

Sherri Verdieck Majestic Mesas District
Phone: 970.270.0119

Walt Cranor (Assistant District Commissioner Montrose/Gunnison) Majestic Mesas District
Phone: 970.209.1218

John Nihiser, Three Rivers District
Phone: 970.285.0267

Mike GillValley District
Phone: 303.619.4433

Kent KnightVenturing
Phone: 303.755.8032

Assistant Council Commissioners

Jason Pettis, Deputy/XO and Technology
Phone: 720.218.5113

John Selstrom, Unit Service
Phone: 703-598-7502

Doc Doolittle, Administration and Training
Phone: 720.218.5113

Joyce Saitta, Leadership Education & Assistance Programs (LEAP)
Phone: 720.940.5050

Scott Johnson, Roundtable
Phone: 303.989.5572

Resources for Commissioners